Bloc Character set on Export

I am not going to bore everyone here with the 25 msg posted on another blog trying to resolve a problem of corruption of characters between a weather application I use to generate data on my site, but I do have a question:

The developers over there are asking:
“I think you need to look at the output of your Blocs HTML page generators and see what sort of document declarations are being made and what character set the files are being generated in. I think your problem has something to do with that.”

Can anyone tell me what character set Blocs exports it’s HTML with?
At least I think that is my question…as I have stated, I am NOT a web programmer. (Becoming painfully obvious to me)

Thanks for any help.

Rich

I don’t now much about coding myself but I was thinking can’t you put it yourself in de head section of the document like that?

Just wondering…

!DOCTYPE html>

<html lang="en"> 

<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>

Hi @WeatherguyNH, I’m not a web programmer either, but just jumping in here with a possible suggestion which may or may not be any use!
Previously formatted imports can throw things a bit. Years ago when I imported a Word doc, it showed online as absolute rubbish!
It’s best to try and import clean, unformatted plain text files wherever possible. Maybe there’s an option to export your data as plain text? Other than this, I probably can’t suggest anything else.
Best of luck.

This is interesting Ive…Thank you for passing this along. I am still wondering does Blocs render using UTF-8 or something else?

I think that is the correct question. If it is already doing that, I would not need the tag.

But what the heck do I know…Thank you!

It uses UTF-8, you can check your page here :

http://validator.w3.org/i18n-checker/check?uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.richlefko.com#validate-by-uri+

You are fantastic!!! Thank you!!! :grinning: :grinning: :grinning: :grinning: