External monitor advice

This isn’t directly a question regarding Blocs, but seeing as I spend more time using the app than anything else (and I don’t frequent any other forums), it seems appropriate to ask it here.

I currently work with a MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2019, Two Thunderbolt 3 ports) and want to attach it to an external monitor; around 22-27inch. I’m not looking for exact product recommendations (though they are welcome), but more tips on what to look out for in terms of compatibility and, probably more importantly, what to avoid. I have no experience of how screen ratios, etc, may or may not affect the output from the MacBook when viewed on a larger screen; possibly in a different size format.

Post Christmas, I’ll be looking towards the budget end of the market. I like to look of the HP fw range, but have read on a review that they had problems connecting a MacBook to it. Does anybody have any experience of using the HP monitor with a MacBook?

I use a 22" TFT monitor with HDMI input on my MBP 13". Works fine for me.

1 Like

@Mattheus Thanks for your answer. Does it run straight from a USB C to HDMI cable, or do you need any adapters?

Hi @Reg, Along my 27" iMac I’m using an Dell and LG 27" 4K. Both are connected with an HDMI to USB-C cable. The LG screen started bleeding after about a year but healed itself in a few months. Happy with both.

1 Like

@Jerry Thanks.

1 Like

You need to make sure that the graphics capabilities of your laptop can support whatever display you attach, but that shouldn’t be an issue with a 2019 MBP.

BenQ monitors tend to be good value for money and for web work you won’t need a wide gamut display that is often used by photographers and printers who need accurate colour management. I’d go for something with an sRGB colour space.