FTP, MySQL, publishing

Hi everyone, wondering if someone can help a total novice with a new website.

Am trying to decide between Blocs and Everweb. Host (SiteGround) told me I shouldn’t need FTP in the builder if supports MySQL. No idea what either are…
If I buy Blocs will I be able to publish the website by simply “uploading”? Or do I need to go through extra steps? Host provides Weebly and Wordpress but don’t like either (and need to pay out more to make them flexible).
I’m completely lost!
Thanks.

Hi Geoff.
Blocs doesn’t have an upload facility. You have to export the html and associated files to your computer and upload from there, either by an ftp programme (there’s been a discussion here recently about that, just search for ftp), or you can quite often upload files in the hosting company’s control panel.
So there are ways around NOT buying an ftp programme, but it does make life easier.

Not at all sure what’s meant by ‘supports mySQL’, so more knowledgeable people than me will probably chime in here.

I tried Everweb for a while (about a year ago) and at the time I found it a bit too limiting, things may have changed, but I went for Blocs in the end and it just seems to be getting better once you get your head around how it works after other programmes.

Best of luck, whatever you choose.

1 Like

Thanks very much for replying Trev, very useful.
I thought there was an “upload” in the control panel at SiteGround but can’t find it now… was probably there after I’d installed Wordpress which I’ve now got rid of!
The support team said “Yep, need to know if it supports MYsql, would be great to know that” Don’t know why but they’re the experts…
Cheers