Option select issue with floating label. I would like to ask for a little help

Hi All!

fomr floating works perfectly, except for one part in which I would like to ask for help, this would be quite important for me.
I can’t give option-select a title, as you can see in the picture. Or I don’t know how to do it.
Could someone possibly help with it?

I want to do it like this.

Képernyőfotó 2023-05-28 - 9.15.46

Just add .form-floating to your Form Group, .form-select to your dropdown and a label inside the Form Group.

Small Potato Ltd 2023-05-28 at 12.31.45

2 Likes

@Jerry

It’s very good, but I don’t fully understand the label part, sorry, my English is not correct.

Unlike other Form Groups such as Name and Email, a drop-down menu does not come with a default label. Therefore, you will need to add one yourself.

1 Like

I understand. but how to create it? But I don’t understand that. Sorry, but I’ve never done this before.

Same way you add a bric. You will find a label element there.

3 Likes

@PeteSharp

Great, thanks, it was simple, I just overcomplicated it.

5 Likes

I found that floating labels -while looking great - ruined the accessibility score for my page, so I removed it.

1 Like

Yeah that is a problem with them.

Good article about that. It’s a little old but still valid.

https://medium.com/simple-human/floating-labels-are-a-bad-idea-82edb64220f6

Accessibility does come with its struggles when balancing with design.

3 Likes

Hello everyone!

Does anyone have an idea why it does that, if I don’t enter the full email address (because, for example, I click on the sidebar) the label goes back to its original position.
If I type it, of course everything is fine.
It only does it in the email field, nowhere else.

It really annoys me and bothers me, but I can’t figure out where the problem is.

Képernyőfotó 2023-06-05 - 14.18.53

Képernyőfotó 2023-06-05 - 14.19.14

Does anyone have any ideas on this? :pensive:

Works here: