Placing a menu over an image in the header

Hello everyone,

I’m currently evaluating Blocs and the trial period is only seven days, and two have already gone. I need to be sure it’s right for me so I’m working flat out, as I have had no end of trouble with responsive websites from other software, and being allergic to code I’m struggling to work with the straightjacket approach that so many web site builders impose. I’m a graphics pro with decades of experience, and can find answers to most problems with a bit of trial and error. However, I can’f find any obvious way of having an image in the header to page width (not hero) and overlaying a menu.

I’ve tried the obvious blocs and couldn’t find what I want, so a tried to make it up with brics within a single container. A menu over an image is very common these days, yet I just can’t make it work here. I’m sure I’m missing the obvious but I just can’t see it.

Can anyone help? Thanks in advance.

Can you not just insert the image as the background to the bloc in the header that also contains the menu? I am using the main menu automatically generated by Blocs over an otherwise empty bloc (except for an image bric also inserted in the bloc)

It works here although the actual insertion is a little glitchy (bug reported) so you may have to experiment a bit. Setting Preview in Place in the Asset Manager may help. This area does seem to be a little flaky at times: that’s unusual in my experience since Blocs is usually rock-solid.

Hi,

Welcome to the Blocs Community.

Just double click on the navigation bloc (not the navigation, but the bloc itself), and select a background image you want. It’s very easy.

If you are new to Blocs, I would recommend to check my free Getting Started with Blocs video course.

Cheers,
Eldar

Hello Cmd-F,