Please help me improve our website

Hi guys,

I’ve posted this website before - https://itsgrowli.com

I’m not a web designer by any standard and this is a very simple design, so I could really do with some pointers on how to improve the site, there’s obviously plenty I’ve overlooked or not thought about. So any help would be greatly appreciated and for any UK based helpers (we only ship in the UK), I’ll happily give you a discount code in return for your efforts.

I’ve used Ecwid buttons on each page, which does slow down the page loading some what due to the code size from Ecwid. I also use lazy loading from an external server, depending on your location or device type there may be an initial delay in sending images to your screen, but once cached this is usually pretty quick.

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance you can offer, Dave :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi @DaveC, I haven’t gone through everything by any means, and just looked on my phone while having morning coffee, but nice site!
It’s the sort of nice clean look I like, just a couple of observations, and this is purely personal.
I had no trouble with load times
There are a couple of places of red copy on black where I did not initially see the red, maybe lighten up a bit?
And the last thing, and this is definitely personal! I’m not a fan of pure black text in white unless the whole site, pics included, are black and white, so maybe a mid-grey to soften it?
But if that’s your first attempt - well done!

1 Like

No slow down at all here in Germany.
Great site.

1 Like

Thanks Pal, that is very helpful. I’ll have a look at those

1 Like

Thank you, that’s great to know. I’m always a bit paranoid when I see the dreaded Google Pagespeed results lol

After loading a page the picture flickers.

screencast 2021-04-23 09-57-31

And now just had a look on desktop.