Refreshed my website with Blocs 3

Hi everyone, I’ve just uploaded my refreshed website using Blocs 3, I’m pleased with the results. I created a slightly simplified mobile version.

If anyone has any feedback good or bad, or spot any errors, or any suggestions for design changes, please let me know.

Many thanks

Simon

My background is in professional photography and coincidentally also went to Plymouth College of Art.

I have only looked at this briefly on a desktop, but that must have been quite a lot of work putting it all together. The text could stand being a little larger for easy reading. I like the large carousel images at the top of the pages and you have done well to maintain a consistent look.

It wouldn’t hurt to add a little colour to break things up and also draw attention to areas of importance, such as the view portfolio buttons. Also I noted that the arrows in the masonry popups like the one below are barely visible, making navigation less clear.

Good to hear from another ex Plymouth College of Art student and thanks for the feedback it’s really appreciated.

The arrow buttons defiantly need addressing, you’re right they are not visible of some of the images, also I’ll take a look at increasing the text size. Maybe some colour would help break things up, I’ll experiment with adding some.

Many thanks
Simon

I basically felt the overall impression was a bit too grey. It’s common for photographers to use grey, white or black and that is fine in itself, however you could definitely introduce a bit more contrast in the design to give it some punch without distracting from the images.

As an example, you could include sections with dark backgrounds and light text to break things up a little. Perhaps the top area below the carousel with some text and the view portfolio button could be dark with light text and a contrasting button that creates a call to action.