Trouble with basic positioning

I am going slowly insane. God i hate css. Sometimes I think I know what i’m doing. Other times… I’m working on this site with a background, and a row on top with some text. WYSIWYG is a lie. I get what I want to see in blocs. And in blocs’ preview. And in “preview in browser”. The only )(&^%%$ place i DON’T get what I want to see, is on the _actual internet._Could someone take pity on a poor, poor idiot and educate me as to how I should be approaching this, settings-wise? I hate to be a negative nelly, but what’s the point in “previews” if they aren’t going to show the end result anyway? Hey, i’m a print designer, cut me some slack.

Hi @mistergreen could you upload or PM a zipped bloc file so i can take a look?

Cheers

Okay so I switched to using a png logo thinking one less thing to worry about (text alignment) might help me understand the positioning. It didn’t. I still can’t get anything to work. I’m going to put it as simply as possible: I need to position an image in the upper left area of the viewport. I need it to resize with the page. Or I could change the size per view.

Either way, I need to be able to position things properly. I got blocs because I thought it would take some of the stress out of working with css. My impression after working with it for a while is that it’s great as long as you stay on the path. Stray from it though, and you’re going to be in trouble. It’s been such a long time since I worked “from scratch” that i suddenly realized “hey, where the hell is relative positioning in here?” And what kind of positioning am i working with? For this stupidly simple problem I’m having, it should just be 1)background 2)div w logo inside (that’s a bloc right?) which should default to top left but doesn’t, 3)“push” the div using margins. Maybe someone could explain the box model to me as it pertains to blocs?