Visitor IP address

Hi,
Can someone help me?

My old website used Wordpress. There is the contact form contained the user IP address information too.
I’m curious, it is possible in Blocs?
When somebody send me a message through the contact form, I would like to know those IP address.
Is this possible?

When somebody visited a page, or click a button on my website would send me an e-mail notification.
Maybe with the user IP address.

TIA
Ben

1 Like

Hi Ben,

I’m by no means a coder or know PHP coding but I got it working :slight_smile:

After you’ve exported your site open the file “form_1.php” in the “includes” folder.
On line 16 you have this:

“Name: $name \nEmail: $email \nMessage: $message \n”;

change it to this:

"Name: $name \nEmail: $email \nMessage: $message \n\nIP: ".$_SERVER[‘REMOTE_ADDR’];

Now you should get the IP in the receiving mail like this.

Your #2 question doesn’t sound like a good idea.
Better to use google analytics and get statistics that way.

Cheers

5 Likes

Hi Jakerlund,

Thank you! :slight_smile:
I did it, but doesn’t working for me. :frowning:

The line “IP:” is empty.
I got an error message: error_log

PHP Notice:  Undefined variable: SERVER in .../includes/form_1.php on line 16

This is what I used. (copy/paste)

"Name: $name \nEmail: $email \nMessage: $message \n\nIP: ".$SERVER['REMOTEADDR'];

Do you have an idea?

Ben

1 Like

Hi again Ben,

The forum removed two underscores in the code.
Just put them back like in this image and it should be OK.

2 Likes

Hi Jakerlund,

Yes! Working! :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
Thank you very much!

@Norm: Please build it into the next version. Simple but great and helpful information. Only plus 30 characters. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yay… glad it worked.

@Norm request for reCAPTCHA as well.

Ben you could either just have a patched file ready when needed.