Web Page Performance

I was wondering what you guys do to improve the performance of web pages created with blocs since according to lighthouse it is difficult for google to render all the JS / CSS created by blocs (eleven) I still don’t understand why there are so many.

I usually try to combine them as much as I can into a single file but it is a tedious process if you need to re-edit the website. @Norm is there a way for blocs not to export as many JS / CSS?

I’m no expert on this subject, as regular readers will attest, but I followed GTmetrix’s simple advice and greatly improved my website’s speed…

Which equates to:

This is my score on GTmetrix

But blocs export a crazy amount of css/js

Look how many js and css files

Wow, looks good to me!*

I have learned that some things are not worth worrying about if a) your speed is good and b) your SEO is good.

For example, the number of ‘requests‘ in my case… it’s because I have a lot of (well optimised) photos on my home page. So I live with it.

Anyway, hopefully some better-informed people will chip in!

*Strictly amateur opinion

if you are not using font awesome, ion icons or line icons you do not need those files

your page load time I really high while page size is less than 1 mb

but I have to agree with you blocsapp does not focus on clean code output or performance

hopefully they will in next updates

1 Like

I think you will find that unused fonts will not affect page load times. Fonts are generally only loaded if there are specific references to the fonts in the CSS of your website. In other words, they load when they are called. If you haven’t called any of the fonts through the CSS, they won’t be loaded. If you are concerned about this, simply delete the unused fonts from the fonts folder after publishing.