Choosing a font

Hi everyone:

Now that Pete has released his latest Bric miracle (Off canvas) I am preparing to “re-tool” and rebuild my website.
Since I am not a website designer (a look at my site can tell you that :flushed:) I have a question for the website designers:
What compels you to choose one font over another?
There seems to be at least a quadrillion (I counted them :laughing:) fonts out there and I was wondering how you web designers decide which font to use for your main font?

I look forward to your answers.

Thank you

Rich the Weather Guy

1 Like

In most cases, this is defined by the customer’s brand guidelines.

For my personal and cats’ websites, I have a few favourites:
Archivo
Comfortaa
Helvetica Neue
MyriadPro
Open Sans
Sweet Sans Pro

1 Like

Hi @WeatherguyNH

Good subject to bring up!

Most of my work is working for clients who have a very very strict list of brand guidelines and part of their assets will be is they send me a woff2 font. If they do not have a web version of it, I then buy it and send the cost back to them.

But choosing my own fonts or for clients who do not have any brand guide lines, then I tend to select nice web friendly and fonts which I feel comfortable reading for long periods and I personally like fonts that have a nice family that I can create H2, H3 etc with in a heavy bold, bold etc with so I have good flexibility with.

Google Fonts have been good for me when I need this or fonts that I have on my Mac or buy them.

Main header fonts can be something wacky! or something classy - feel free to be creative. Most the time I tend to stick a main header H1 font with something that compliments the product, business or feel of the site.
Or if I want it to be the same I then go for a Heavy weight version and have it a lot bigger.

Fonts are great as you can be creative like the eventus blocs template the SUMMER FESTIVAL font on the home page is very nice, simple but effective.