How to determine font sizes on web site

I am trying to determine the optimal font sizes for my web site. I look at various web sites
I see text sizes (H and P tags) that i like and want to determine their sizes.

If i open Safari / develop / show resources pages of the site I do not see how the tags are defined in all the code.

Not being a coder, I can see em sizes for emoji and pixel sizes for images but not ems, % or pixel sizes of the tags.

I thought the show resources would provide this info.

Thank in advance.

Rich

Not sure if this would help, but it does me. That’s why I made it. :slight_smile:
http://armingchampions.com/Texts

1 Like

I realize this isn’t the exact question but I thought it would be useful as well.

When I need to quickly see what a font size is on a website I’m visiting I use What the Font extension for Chrome browser.

It provides font details very quickly. Quicker and less obtrusive than a typical css inspection.

Another tip is to use the Google Fonts page to help give you make font decisions.

You can edit the text and apply that text to every font on the page. Even if you aren’t using Google fonts you can still use similar font styles to help in decision making.

1 Like

Setting font sizes for all breakpoints is easy. Depending what kind of font you are using, and basically you need to start from P tag size. Am always using 16 or 18px.

And using https://type-scale.com/ as a calculator.

Try it :smiley:

5 Likes

good one @rusmir …bookmarked!

1 Like

Thanks @KBConcepts and @Whittfield your input was very helpful. I have been using Safari mainly for the bookmark synch with other devices but I think i will explore Chrome.

I found this blog page which helped me as well.

Why Beginning Designers Don't Need to Learn Grids, Type Scales, or Color Theory (and other “Designer Dogma”) – Learn UI Design.