Integrating HTML5 Canvas animations into Blocs site

Hi there,
I’m new to Blocs and am not having much luck getting started. I’ve watched the “Introduction to Blocs” video and it’s more like a high-speed demo than a tutorial, IMHO.

The site I’m trying to create is really pretty simple. I’m just trying to place an HTML5 Canvas animation at the top of the body of each page with some explanatory text beneath it. The animations are all done and tested (I converted them from Flash to HTML5 Canvas in Adobe Animate) and I just need to figure out how to add each one.

Can anyone please point me to a tutorial for doing this or explain how it’s done? I’ve searched both Google and YouTube and have briefly scanned the topics in this forum and am coming up with nothing that appears applicable, which is surprising.

Thanks for your help!
Cheers,
Scott

Hello Scott,

I’m not sure what you are looking for, but if you haven’t already, check out the free Getting Started with Blocs video course I have created. It’s available here: https://eldargezalov.com/start

Cheers,
Eldar

Typically, you would use an HTML bric to position your animation on the page. The HTML will create the canvas pixel container that you can then add your animation to. The HTML container would be something like this:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>
<canvas id="myCanvas" width="300" height="150" style="border:3px solid pink;">

</canvas>
</body>
</html>

You would then add the rest of the canvas code before the closing canvas element. In many cases, the code will be in the form of a script (usually javascript) which would be nested inside the canvas element.

I don’t know what Adobe Animate outputs - whether it’s already in a canvas element or whether it’s just the script code. If it’s the latter, you will have to add the script inside the canvas element. If it outputs the canvas element with the script already nested, you can just add the whole thing to an HTML bric wherever you need it on your page.

Hi Hendon,