My first Blocs site and some thoughts to share

Hi Everyone:

Background:
I am a weather hobbyist and have maintained a website about New England USA weather for the last 20 years.
I am not a professional web programmer like many of you are. Yes, I have built a website for a friend here and there, but I am far from a pro.
For the past 20 years I was using Adobe’s Dreamweaver 6, their last stand alone version before they moved everything to CS and subscriptions.
Why? It was available at the time, and I owned the software (or thought I did, more on that later), so I just stuck with it.
Over the years it became increasingly apparent that my site was not keeping up with times, and could not be viewed satisfactorily on all of today’s devices.
Also, I am running Mojave on a new iMac I bought in 2019, and since this older version of Dreamweaver will not run on Big Sur, I have not been able to migrate to the new Mac OS.
As a sidenote: I despise subscription software. Yes, I know developers need to make money to stay in business and keep developing, but I could not possibly “subscribe” to all of the software I own. It just isn’t possible.
When I moved to the new Mac, I needed to re-enter my Adobe Dreamweaver Serial number. This number, used for more than 10 years, was suddenly no good. After many calls with Adobe, explaining, AND showing a receipt for the software, they insisted it was pirated and they would not activate the software. After looking at their subscription pricing, I could not believe what it would cost me to move to dreamweaver CS. Again, I am NOT a business. My site is a labor of love. Besides, the entire episode with a greedy Adobe refusing to acknowledge a valid receipt, a receipt they had acknowledged for more than 15 years prompted the deletion of ALL adobe software on my Mac. I will never own another piece of software made by adobe…but I digress.