New website for real estate

I am a relatively new web designer and still learning what works best. I am creating a real estate website for a client that will be displaying their properties on the site. What would be the easiest way for the client to be able to add properties/images of properties without having to go back through me to add them in Blocs. Is there something to integrate into Blocs that would simplify this process ?

You will probably need a CMS. In the near future Blocs will be able to export themes direct to Wordpress via a native plugin direct from Norm. There is a third party option out there that does this already, however I have not tried it and heard it was complex.

Alternatively you could look at a solution like Surreal CMS. There is also a Blocs developer creating a CMS called Circle that should be ready before long. Circle should be very simple to set up and operate.

If your client does not need to alter text and simply wants to change images in fixed positions you could also just provide them with FTP access to a specific folder on the server and have them drop in new images of the same size and file name. That would retain all the current formatting and simply change the image. The caveat is that sooner or later they’ll mess up by adding 20MP images with incorrect format ratios and blame you.

Beware that anything involving clients making their own changes is frequently asking for trouble, leading to a lot of support requests they are not always willing to pay for. It needs some thinking through and study to minimise your potential headaches.

2 Likes

Today almost all listing are entered in some kind of MLS/Online database for the public. The agent already has done the work you’re asking about. Normally there are several options to achieve this.

Some require paid options and others are free. You’ll have to check to make sure what-ever service is used you have permission as some prohibit the use of the information.