Responsive Design - Text doesn't resize

Hey,

I am new to blocs and I immediately noticed that text doesn’t resize when I alter the window size in page preview.

Normally there are certain break point and with every break point the text…

1. wraps up
  2. changes it’s size --> the less screen width the smaller it gets

Blocs doesn’t seem to do that or am I doing something wrong?

Could anybody please help :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Text will wrap at different break points as a default option. However, you can manually adjust text size at different break points. Just switch to the breakpoint views and adjust the text and spacing size to whatever you need. You will notice that a custom class will be created automatically when you do this.

1 Like

Thanks a lot Hendon!

So doing this manually is the only way?

I guess the best way then is to create a custom class that looks good on every device and then reuse it as often as possible… Just thought that there would be a smarter solution for this :thinking:

No need to actually create a custom class - Blocs does it automatically. See below. Automatically resizing text is often a bad option. I have a couple of apps that do this, but it becomes a real pain adjusting text and layouts afterwards. This is because if automatic resizing is used. a 12pt text size on a desktop breakpoint suddenly gets reduced to about 5pt on a small mobile screen - making it difficult to read. It’s much better to have a system that maintains the text size and wraps the text to suit the screen width. You are then free to tweak the sizes if it looks too large on other breakpoints.