Multiple Site Management

Hi Everyone:

As I have said in many posts, I am a rookie at this although I’ve had a website up and running for 20 years.
Using Blocs has allowed me to expand the way I think about my site, and now, with Blocs on iPad, the possibilities seem endless.
Let me elaborate on what is now possible for me.

My weather website is updated twice per day. I spend quite a bit of time reading weather maps, etc, then adding graphics and forecasts, and other content. It is truly a labor of love.

Anyhow, there are times when I am traveling, and not in a position to perform the complete update to the site. In the past, I would simply not update, catch up the next time I am available.

However, now with Blocs on iPad, I have created a “Lite” site I intend to use when I can’t update the main site.
Now being a rookie, I would think I’d have to go up to my FTP server, and delete my current full site files, then upload the “Lite” site which would then load instead.

So, finally, here is my question: Is what I describe above the only way to accomplish this feat?
I simply want to switch from one site to the other. Is there another method I should be looking at, or is what I described above pretty much it?

Thanks for reading through this and offering suggestions.

Rich the Weather Guy

Just a thought. And I’m a newbie so not sure if this would work for what you need.

If you have a hosting package that can manage having multiple sites in it, you could possibly create two sites in it.

Then when mobile change the domain to point to the ‘light site’ and the point back to the main site when needed.

I didn’t something like this with mine and found it was just a matter of changing the folder address in the hosting package.

As I said not sure if this is the best way or whether it works for all, but it did work quickly and easily for me